Risk Management and Internal Control


The Board has overall responsibility for maintaining and ensuring effective implementation of the risk management and internal control systems of the Group and reviewing their effectiveness through the Audit Committee to safeguard the shareholders’ interest and the Company’s assets. However, these systems are designed to manage rather than eliminate risk of failure in operational system, and can only provide reasonable but not absolute assurance against material misstatement or loss.
 
The Group has implemented an effective internal control system which includes a defined management structure with clear lines of responsibility and limits of authority, proper procedures for income and expenditure, monthly review by the Executive Directors of operational and financial reports provided by the management, regular business meetings between the Executive Directors and the core management team and periodic review of the Group’s financial results by the Board.
 
The Board, through the Audit Committee, reviews regularly the effectiveness and adequacy of the Group’s internal control system which includes financial, operational and compliance mechanisms and risk management functions in order to identify, evaluate and manage risks and take appropriate measures to avoid or mitigate those risks that could adversely impact the Group’s business activities. The review also includes the adequacy of resources, qualifications and experience of staff of the Company’s accounting and financial reporting function, and their training programmes and budget. The review process consists of, amongst other matters, assessment and implementation of material control issues identified by an independent external auditor during statutory audit.
 
During the year 2017, the Company has engaged an independent consultant to perform an internal audit review for the Group. The review included making enquiries with appropriate management and key process owners and performing walkthrough tests to identify the major risks and significant deficiencies, and making recommendations for improving and strengthening the internal control system to the Audit Committee for approval. No material issues on the Group’s internal control system have been identified in the reviewed areas and reported to the Audit Committee. The Board considered that the risk management and internal control system was adequate and effective.
 
Procedures and Internal Controls for Handling and Dissemination of Inside Information

The Group acknowledges its responsibilities under the Securities and Futures Ordinance (Chapter 571 of the Laws of Hong Kong) and the Rules Governing the Listing of Securities on The Stock Exchange of Hong Kong Limited (the "Listing Rules") and the overriding principle that inside information should be announced immediately when it is the subject of a decision. The procedures and internal controls for the handling and dissemination of inside information are as follows:
  1. the Group conducts its affairs with close regard to the disclosure requirement under the Listing Rules as well as the “Guidelines on Disclosure of Inside Information” published by the Securities and Futures Commission of Hong Kong in June 2012;
  2. the Group regulates the handling and dissemination of inside information to ensure inside information remains confidential until the disclosure of such information is appropriately approved and the dissemination of such information is efficiently and consistently made;
  3. the Group strictly prohibits unauthorised use of confidential or inside information;
  4. the Group has also implemented procedures to guard against possible mishandling of inside information within the Group including pre-clearance on dealing in the securities of the Company by designated Directors and notification of regular blackout period and securities dealing restrictions to Directors and relevant employees; and
  5. the Group keeps the Directors and employees appraised of the latest regulatory updates on disclosure requirements of inside information.

風險管理及內部監控

董事會對透過本公司審核委員會維持及確保本集團之風險管理及內部監控制度的有效實施以及檢討其成效以保障股東利益及本公司之資產負有整體責任。然而,該等制度旨在管理而非消除未能維持營運制度之風險,並僅可就重大錯誤陳述或損失提供合理而非絕對保證。

本集團已實施一套有效之內部監控制度,包括訂明清晰職責及權限之管理架構、收支之適當程序、執行董事每月審閱管理層提供之營運及財務報告、執行董事與核心管理團隊定期舉行業務會議以及董事會定期審閱本集團財務業績。

董事會透過本公司審核委員會定期審閱本集團包括財務、營運、合規機制及風險管理職能之內部監控制度之有效性及充足度,以識別、評估及管理風險,並採取適當措施以避免或減輕可能會對本集團業務活動造成不利影響之風險。審閱範疇亦包括本公司在會計及財務匯報職能方面之資源、員工資歷及經驗是否足夠,以及員工培訓計劃及預算是否充足。審閱過程包括(其中包括)評估及執行於法定審核期間由外聘獨立核數師識別之重大監控事宜。

於二零一七年期間,本公司已委聘一名獨立顧問對本集團進行內部審計檢討。有關檢討包括向適當之管理人員及關鍵流程擁有人查詢和進行預排演練測試以識別主要風險及重大缺陷,以及向審核委員會作出有關改善及加強內部監控制度之建議以供審批。檢討範疇內並無識別及向審核委員會匯報有關本集團內部監控制度之重大事宜。董事會認為,風險管理及內部監控制度屬充足有效。

 

處理及發怖內幕消息之程序及內部監控措施

 

本集團確認其根據香港法例第571章證券及期貨條例及香港聯合交易所有限公司證券上市規則(「上市規則」)所應履行之責任,整體原則是凡涉及內幕消息,必須在有所決定後即時公布。處理及發佈內幕消息之程序及內部監控措施如下:

  1. 本集團處理事務時會充分考慮上市規則項下之披露規定以及香港證券及期貨事務監察委員會於二零一二年六月發表之「內幕消息披露指引」;
  2. 本集團規管內幕消息之處理及發佈,以確保內幕消息在獲適當批准披露前一直保密,並確定有效及一致地發佈該等消息;
  3. 本集團嚴格禁止未經授權使用機密或內幕消息;
  4. 本集團亦已實施程序以防止本集團內部可能不當處理內幕消息,包括買賣本公司證券需獲得指定董事預先審批,並通知董事及相關僱員有關常規禁止買賣期及證券交易限制;及
  5. 本集團讓本公司董事及僱員掌握有關內幕消息披露規定之最新監管資料。